What to do with the negative people in your life?

Tyler Hill
2 min readJul 5, 2020

We all the know glass-half-full person, the woe is me person, and the “look at me, look at me, I’m the hurting the most,” person. Are we meant to coddle them, listen to the complaints, tell them it’ll all be alright?

The answer is yes, on the surface, but no as a habit. Let me explain… At a party with that friend who complains all the time, I think it’s okay to encourage. We should all aspire to be encouraging. But when it’s someone who has more access to you, I would say avoid them at all costs! It could be your sister or brother living across the hall. Perhaps it’s a parent, perhaps it’s you?

You see, negative energy is contagious, much like a contentious spirit. Take a look at 1 Corinthians 15:33, which tells us: Do not be deceived: “Bad company ruins good morals.”

If you are a positive person you might notice that when your around someone who has bad energy, it is draining! That is by design, by design their energy negatively affects your positive particles and you can feet it! Likewise, if you are a negative person, you are going to gravitate towards positive people. With this natural desire, you have two choices. #1 to learn how to look at things through a positive light, take the good advice and work on seeing things through a more positive lens or #2 drain their energy and negatively affect their body, which can lead to sickness and even death.

No one is perfect, we can all improve and we each need one another. Trot on! :)

--

--

Tyler Hill
0 Followers

Email me at tyler@tylermichellehill.com I love God, I tithe, and I'm still not perfect. Thank goodness Jesus bridges the gap where we all fall short. Amen! <3